Breadcrumbs

2013-01-10_09-09-58_3

I haven’t bought breadcrumbs in about 4 years.

My husband and I rarely get through a whole loaf of bread before I have to chuck into the fridge to keep in from going bad. At that point we rarely touch the bread until it is time to make breadcrumbs. After a couple months I have collected the “butt” ends of bread and a few normal slices too. It is then time to make a big batch of breadcrumbs. You’ll see in the picture above that I keep my whole wheat and white breadcrumbs separate. It is pretty rare that I have white crumbs, but I had a lot of leftover hamburger and hotdog buns.

Breadcrumbs

  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place bread directly on oven rack that is set in the middle of oven.
  3. Dry out bread for 20-30min. [Some pieces may have to dry in oven longer than others. The “butt” ends of bread tend to dry out faster. The bread is done when it snaps cleanly when you break it in half. Sometimes I get too impatient for regular slices of bread to dry out and I use them anyways.]
  4. Let bread cool completely on wire racks.
  5. Throw bread into a food processor or blender. Process until you reach your desired texture.
  6. TO FREEZE: Dump crumbs into a freezer safe container or bag and freeze. *Don’t let bag of crumbs sit out once you have frozen it. Crumbs thaw REALLY FAST*

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

